Built in 1855, the Seven Foot Knoll Light once occupied a spot at the mouth of the Patapsco River where it meets the mighty Chesapeake Bay. Like most 19th century lighthouses, it was manned by keepers over the years. Isolated and facing all sorts of weather, a tough lifestyle awaited the brave men and women that occupied these outposts during those long winter months when ice floes and high winds can be a major threat.
Anyhow, in 1988 the lighthouse was deactivated and moved by barge to its current location at the northernmost reach of the Patapsco, which makes up Baltimore’s inner harbor.
- Click any image to enlarge -
She stands tall along the promenade and has served as a museum under the guidance and administration of the Baltimore Maritime Museum. The Seven Foot Knoll light is also the oldest screw-pile lighthouse in the state of Maryland and appears on the National Register of Historic Places.
In the 1850s a structure like this, built from iron, could be constructed for less than $50,000. Fast forward to 1988, the aforementioned move to pier 5 exceeded $600,000. Hey, moving 200 tons upriver is expensive.
But with its long storied history as a lonely sentinel stationed on a critically important position of the Bay and the Patapsco river, it was fitting that this would be preserved for future generations to see and experience.
Above we have a wider angled view of the area, which includes a backdrop of "pier homes". Its a contrast of yesteryear and today, a wonderful blend of architecture and engineering.
Thanks so much for visiting!